Wednesday, March 15, 2017

WTS Undergraduate Scholarships

WTS Molitoris Leadership Scholarship for Undergraduates

Part of the WTS goal of fostering the development of women in the transportation field can be realized by encouraging bright new professionals to undertake careers in the area of transportation. The WTS Molitoris Leadership Scholarship is awarded to women pursuing undergraduate studies in transportation or a related field who demonstrate leadership skills, ability, and interest.

The purpose of the WTS Molitoris Leadership Scholarship is to motivate and reward women who demonstrate leadership in the transportation industry. The leadership, skills, and perspectives of women are essential to assure that the transportation systems of the future respond to the needs of all. Leadership does not just happen. Leaders personally invest and risk much. They must take on struggles that many would avoid and persevere to reach successful outcomes. These qualities should receive special attention in the selection of the award winner.

The WTS San Francisco Bay Chapter Molitoris Leadership Scholarship Award is $5,000, and a one-year membership to WTS.   

Visit the webpage for more info:

The minimum criteria for selection are:

a.   GPA of 3.0 or higher.
      b.   Currently enrolled in an undergraduate degree program in a transportation-related field, such as transportation engineering, planning, finance, or logistics at an accredited college or university located in either the 9-County Bay Area[1] or the 3-County AMBAG[2] region.
      c.   Plans to pursue a career in a transportation-related field.
      d.   Applicants for the Molitoris Leadership Scholarship must specifically address the issue of leadership on their personal statement.
      Applications are due on or before April 17, 2017.
Scholarships are competitive and based on the applicant's specific transportation goals, academic record, and transportation-related activities or job skills. Minority candidates are encouraged to apply.

The San Francisco Bay Chapter awards will be presented during the Chapter’s annual awards event, which takes place on June 7, 2017 and attendance at the awards dinner is strongly recommended.

Applications must be typed, not handwritten.  They may be sent either electronically or in hard copy.  
Electronic submittals should go to:

Hard copy should go to:
Marcella Rensi, Programming & Grants Manager
Santa Clara Valley Transportation Authority
3331 North First St.
San Jose, CA 95134

Please feel free to contact Marcella Rensi at 408-321-5717 or with any questions.  Emails will usually receive a faster response.