Wednesday, March 15, 2017

WTS Undergraduate Scholarships

WTS Sharon D. Banks Memorial Undergraduate Scholarship

WTS fosters the development of women in the transportation field by encouraging bright new professionals to undertake careers in the area of transportation. One way it does this is by awarding the WTS Sharon D. Banks Memorial Scholarship to women pursuing undergraduate studies in transportation or a related field.

The scholarship honors Sharon D. Banks, chief executive officer of AC Transit in Alameda and Contra Costs counties, California. As its CEO throughout most of the 1990’s, Banks led the agency in a pioneering effort to introduce cultural and organizational changes aimed at motivating the public-transit work force. She was a member of the WTS Advisory Board and received the WTS San Francisco Chapter Woman of the Year and Employer of the Year awards.

The WTS San Francisco Bay Chapter (Sharon’s home chapter) is awarding the Sharon D. Banks Memorial Undergraduate Scholarship for $5,000.  The winner will receive a free 1-year WTS membership.

Visit for more info:

The minimum criteria for selection are:

a.   GPA of 3.0 or higher.
      b.   Currently enrolled in an undergraduate degree program in a transportation-related field, such as transportation engineering, planning, finance, or logistics at an accredited college or university located in either the 9-County Bay Area[1] or the 3-County AMBAG[2] region.
      c.   Plans to pursue a career in a transportation-related field.

      Applications are due on or before April 17, 2017.
Scholarships are competitive and based on the applicant's specific transportation goals, academic record, and transportation-related activities or job skills. Minority candidates are encouraged to apply.

The San Francisco Bay Chapter awards will be presented during the Chapter’s annual awards event, which takes place on June 7, 2017.  Attendance at the awards dinner is strongly recommended.

Applications must be typed, not handwritten.  They may be sent either electronically or in hard copy. 
Electronic submittals should go to:

Hard copy should go to:
Marcella Rensi, Programming & Grants Manager
Santa Clara Valley Transportation Authority
3331 North First St.
San Jose, CA 95134

Please feel free to contact Marcella Rensi at 408-321-5717 or with any questions.  Emails will usually receive a faster response.