Arch Majors Non-CED Scholarships/Fellowships for 2012-13

Dear Students,

As the semester wraps up, scholarships and fellowships for 2012-13 are probably the last thing on your mind. Nevertheless, there are some really great opportunities out there offered by external organizations. Here are seven opportunities to consider:

*AIA Santa Clara Valley Chapter Scholarships
Deadline*: Monday, April 23, 2012
*Awards*: 4-8 students each awarded $1,000 to $5,000.
*Eligibility*: Undergraduate or graduate architecture student who will be enrolled in a school of architecture during the 2012-13 academic year. Please see the scholarship website for more details.
*Summary*: AIASCV Scholarships support tuition and other educational expenses associated with pursing an architectural degree.
*AIASCV Scholarship Contact*: AIA Santa Clara Valley, (408) 298-0611
*2012 SOM Prize and Travel Fellowship for Architecture, Design, and Urban Design
Deadline*: Monday, April 23, 2012 (Intent to Submit)
*Awards*: One $50,000 Research and Travel Fellowship, and one $20,000 Travel Research Fellowship.
*Eligibility*: Undergraduate or graduate student of accredited UC Schools of architecture, design and urban design, who have received, or will receive, their degree between the dates of July 1, 2011 and June 30, 2012.
*Summary*: The SOM Prize enables one outstanding student to do in-depth research, meet with other professionals in the field, and pursue independent study outside the realm of established patterns. The SOM Foundation annually offers two awards in honor of this prize: a $50,000 fellowship and a $20,000 fellowship.
*SOM Prize Contact*:
*Zimmer Gunsul Frasca Architectural Scholarship Fund of the Oregon Community Foundation
Deadline*: Tuesday, May 1, 2012
*Award*: A $10,000 scholarship awarded to 1 student. The recipient will also be offered an internship with one of ZGF's offices (Portland, OR; Seattle, WA; Los Angeles, CA; Washington, DC; New York, NY).
*Eligibility:* Applicants must be currently enrolled students *entering their final year* in a graduate or undergraduate level, NAAB accredited, architecture program in the Fall of 2012.
*Summary*: The ZGF Scholarship was established in 2004 to recognize and foster students who have a demonstrated talent and passion for architecture.
*ZGF Scholarship Contact*: Janet Rademacher Hull,
*Peter E. Haas Public Service Leaders Program*
*Deadline*: Tuesday, May 1, 2012
*Award*: Up to 20 student recipients, each awarded $2,500 to $5,000.
*Eligibility*: Current UC Berkeley undergraduate students who are eligible for financial aid and will be enrolled at UC Berkeley for the entire 2012-13 academic year. Program participants must also be able to commit 12-15 hours a week for the entire 2012-13 academic year to partcipate in the leadership development program.
*Summary*: Named in honor of a legendary Cal alumnus who was known for his deep compassion for helping others, the Peter E. Haas Public Service Leaders Program seeks to grow a new generation of leaders committed to helping society.
*Program Contact*: Mike Bishop,
*California Homebuilding Foundation (CHF) "Hall of Fame Scholarship Award*"
*Deadline*: Tuesday, May 15, 2012
*Award*: A $5,000 scholarship awarded to 1 student.
*Eligibility*: Applicants must be enrolled in a in a building-related curriculum and must be in the process of obtaining their Bachelors or Master’s degree during the 2012-13 academic year. Applicants must also have a GPA of 2.5 or higher, a California resident with the objective of a future career within the California homebuilding industry, and must be able to attend the CHF Fall of Fame Award Ceremony on June 26, 2012 in San Francisco.
*Summary*: The California Homebuilding Foundation (CHF), founded in 1978 as a nonprofit organization, serves the homebuilding industry by providing scholarships, research and educational professional development programs for California’s homebuilding and construction industries. The Foundation seeks to support a student who is interested in pursuing a career in this industry through the "Hall of Fame Scholarship Award."
*CHF Scholarship Contact*: Terri Brunson,
*Asian-American Architects and Engineers Foundation 2012 Student Scholarships
Deadline*: Wednesday, May 30, 2012
*Award*: $25,000 split among a number of scholarship recipients, with an individual award of up to $5,000.
*Eligibility*: Undergraduate or graduate students working towards a degree in Architecture, Engineering (Civil, Electrical, or Mechanical, Landscape Architecture or Planning and Urban Design, or Construction/Construction Management. Students must be enrolled full-time during the 2012-13 academic year. Please see the scholarship website for other requirements.
*Summary*: Each year, the Asian-American Architects and Engineers Foundation offers scholarships to full-time students pursuing a career in the AEC Industry (architecture, engineering, construction, etc.), who have demonstrated a measurable level of involvement/ service to the Asian-Pacific Islander community, and are a student member of AAa/e (students can sign up online at
*AAa/e Foundation Scholarship Contact:* Grace Cowan,

Good luck!

CED Prizes & Awards

212 Wurster Hall
College of Environmental Design
University of California, Berkeley
Berkeley, CA 94720-1820 |